EMIA Financials Program Webinar: “How Can the Finance Sector Address Deforestation Risks?” (Thursday, May 26, 10 am EDT / 3 pm BST / 4 pm CET)

On Thursday, May 26 at 10 am EDT / 3 pm BST / 4 pm CET, EMIA’s Financials Program will host Emma Thompson, Lead on Forest 500 project of Global Canopy, one of the four founding members of TNFD. Global Canopy is a data-driven environmental not-for-profit innovating to increase the scope, quality, and accessibility of environmental data, clear metrics, and actionable insights to key audiences in the financial sector, business, government, and civil society.

This webinar will introduce Forest 500 and its methodology to assess financial institutions with the greatest influence on tropical deforestation and Global Canopy’s extensive work and unique dataset on the policies and actions on deforestation of the companies and financial institutions producing a comprehensive assessment, based on some 180,000 data points.

Emma will also discuss Global Canopy’s technical work in developing the Finance Sector Roadmap – which received UK government backing at COP26. The Finance Sector Roadmap presents the best practice for financial institutions linked to forest-risk commodity supply chains and unites existing guidance with recommended datasets and tools.

Moderated by Amanda Gray, co-Director of Financials, Emerging Markets Investors Alliance. The speaker’s presentation will be followed by Q&A amongst the webinar participants.

The webinar is open to emerging markets financial professionals only.